The Authority of Heads of State and Government of ECOWAS at its fortieth ordinary session, held 16 and 17 February, 2012 at Abuja, Federal Republic of Nigeria, elected H.E Alassane Dramane Ouattara, President of Cote-d’Ivoire, as its new Chairman for the next one-year term. The new Chairman takes over from President Goodluck Jonathon, President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The Authority also appointed H.E Désiré Kadré Ouédraogo, a national of Burkina Faso, as the new President of ECOWAS Commission

replacing H.E James Victor Gbeho, and confirmed the appointment of the new Vice-President and Commissioners.

In addition, the Authority directed the Chairman of the Council of Ministers to convene, as soon as possible, a meeting of the Council to consider the allocation of outstanding statutory positions within ECOWAS institutions and agencies.

The positions of Judges at the Community Court of Justice and other statutory appointments of the Community on the agenda were deferred for consideration in the next meeting of the ECOWAS Council of Ministers.

The meeting registered a large number of participants from ECOWAS Member States, United Nations and AU as well as the presence of a delegation from the ECOWAS Court of Justice, headed by its President Hon. Justice Awa Nana Daboya.