The President of the ECOWAS Court of Justice, Hon. Justice Jérôme Traore has pledged to reinforce the existing cooperation between the Court and the other institutions of the Community, particularly the regional Parliament.

Justice Traoré made this declaration on Tuesday, November 21, 2017 at the official opening ceremony of the second ordinary session of the Parliament of ECOWAS in which he took part at the invitation of the Speaker of the Parliament, His Excellency Moustapha Cissé LO.

He used the opportunity to congratulate the Parliament for the enhancement of its powers describing its role in the area of ​​budgetary control of ECOWAS institutions as a decisive step towards the realization of the Community’s 2020 vision of transforming from an ECOWAS States to ECOWAS of people.

Describing the enhancement as a ‘historic development reflects the maturity and responsibility of the Parliament to meet the enormous challenges of budgetary issues,’ the President said the additional responsibility will enable members of the legislative arm of ECOWAS not only to carry out a thorough examination of the budget estimates but also to control the use of the Community's financial resources in the long term.

In his speech, the Speaker of the Parliament,  Mr LO, explained the nature of the session and welcomed the opportunity provided by the enhanced powers  to further the contribution of the Community parliament to region’s integration, assuring that the Community’s draft budget would be considered with the required seriousness during the session.

The opening ceremony was also attended by the President of the Republic of Senegal, HE Macky Sall, the representative of the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, H.E. Muhammad Buhari, the Vice-President of the Commission, the representative of the President of the Pan-African Parliament.

Also in attendance were Ambassadors accredited to ECOWAS and the Federal Republic of Nigeria, representatives of international organizations, representatives of inter-African organizations, civil society; Commissioners and Directors.