The new Judges of the ECOWAS Community Court of Justice have been enjoined to demonstrate ‘the highest level of consciousness and probity’ in the handling of cases brought before them in order to ensure fidelity with their oath of office.

At the handover ceremony to the new President of the Court, the President of the ECOWAS Commission, His Excellency Jean-Claude Brou, said as one of the institutions created under the founding Treaty, the Court by its mandate has a responsibility to ensure respect for Community texts, the rule of law and equity.

In this way, the President said the Court will be contributing to reinforcing citizen and stakeholder confidence in Community institutions, a precondition for the realisation of the economic and social progress that motivated the founding fathers of the Community.

The five new judges were sworn in on the margins of the 53rd Summit of ECOWAS Heads of State and Government for a four year non-renewable tenure on 31st July 2018 by the former Chairman of the Authority, President Faure Gnassingbe of Togo.

They include the new President, Honorable Justice Edward Amoako Asante, (Ghana), the Vice President, Honorable Justice Gberi-Be Ouattara (Côte d’Ivoire), Honorable Justice Dupe Atoki (Nigeria), Honorable Justice Keikura Bangura (Sierra Leone) and Honorable Justice Januaria Tavares Silva Moreira Costa (Cape Verde).

The President pledged support to the judges to enable them fully fulfill their mission, which include the promotion of respect for Community texts and to ensure the rule of law and equity in the region.

He praised the seven outgoing judges, especially the outgoing President, for their contributions to strengthening the confidence of all stakeholders in the court and expressed the hope that the new judges will continue on the tradition for the benefit of Community citizens.

Prior to the ceremony, the new judges elected Honorable Justice Edward Amoako Asante from Ghana as the President of the Court for a two year tenure while Honorable Gberi-Be Ouattara from Côte d’Ivoire was elected the Vice President for the same two years.